Lamont Marcell Jacobs wins Olympic men’s 100m final with time of 9.79 seconds

Lamont Marcell Jacobs has won the men’s 100m final at the Tokyo Olympics after Team GB’s Zharnel Hughes was disqualified with a false start.
He is the first man to win the title other than sprinting great Usain Bolt since 2004.

American Trayvon Bromell was favourite to win gold before the Games after running the world’s fastest time this year at 9.77 but failed to qualify for the final.
Hughes was the first Briton to race in the men’s Olympic 100m final since Dwain Chambers and Darren Campbell at the Sydney Games in 2000, but missed out on the race after the false start.
The sprinters in the final were Ronnie Baker and Fred Kerley from the US, Canada’s Andre DeGrasse, Su Bingtian of China, Lamont Jacobs from Italy, South Africa’s Akani Simbine and Enoch Adegoke of Nigeria.


Source : Sky News