Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood’s the Smile Release First New Song: Listen

Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood have officially released the debut single from their new band the Smile, which features Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner on drums. “You Will Never Work in Television Again” was produced by Nigel Godrich. Listen to the new single below.

The Smile will perform three consecutive live shows at Magazine London on January 29 (at 3 p.m. Eastern and 8 p.m. Eastern) and January 30 (at 6 a.m. Eastern). The trio will perform to a seated audience in the round, and the shows will broadcast on a livestream. Paul Dugdale will direct, and Driift will produce.

Following a last-minute announcement, Greenwood, Yorke, and Skinner made their live debut as the Smile on the Glastonbury Festival’s Live at Worthy Farm streaming event in May. Godrich did not join them. The group takes it name from a poem by Ted Hughes, with Yorke explaining at Glastonbury, “Not the smile as in ‘ahh!’, more ‘The Smile’ as in, the guy who lies to you every day.”


This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.

Source : Pitchfork