FKA twigs Announces New Mixtape Caprisongs

FKA twigs has announced her new mixtape Caprisongs. It’s due out on January 14. The 17-song effort will include FKA twigs’ recent Weeknd collaboration “Tears in the Club,” as well as tracks with Jorja Smith, Daniel Caesar, Shygirl, Nigerian singer Rema, Coventry rapper Pa Salieu, and others. Find the tracklist and cover art below.

FKA twigs executive produced Caprisongs with El Guincho. The mixtape also has production from FKA twigs and El Guincho, as well as Koreless, P2J, Mike Dean, Arca, Psymun, Warren Ellis, Sega Bodega, and more.

The Caprisongs mixtape follows FKA twigs’ 2019 album Magdalene. Last year, she shared “Don’t Judge Me” and “Measure of a Man” before dropping “Tears in the Club” in December.

The mixtape also marks FKA Twigs’ first solo music since she filed a lawsuit against Shia LeBeouf; the lawsuit alleged “relentless abuse,” sexual battery, assault, and emotional distress. She further discussed instances of abuse in a February 2021 interview with Gayle King on CBS. In interviews, FKA twigs has discussed how new music she made was, in part, was a reaction to her time spent with LaBeouf.

“My next music is, ironically, a lot lighter than the usual music that I make,” she told Louis Theroux in 2021. “I spent so much time in darkness with [LaBeouf] that in lockdown I’ve been missing my friends and going out, getting ready, and dancing. I’ve wanted to make music for the people closest to me that I love.”

In a statement, about her mixtape, FKA twigs wrote, “Caprisongs is my journey back to myself through my amazing collaborators and friends.” She continued, “Caprisongs… it’s bronzer in the sink, alco pop on the side, a cherry lolly, apple juice when you’re thirsty, friends in the park, your favourite person, that one sentence somebody said to you that changed everything, a club pre-game, your bestie who is always late but brings the most to the party, meeting a friend at the airport, just togetherness.”

Outside music, FKA twigs told Michaela Coel in early 2021 that she was working on a martial arts-based TV series for FX. And, when Lil Nas X released his “Montero (Call Me by Your Name)” video, twigs opened up about having a conversation with Lil Nas X about similarities between his video and her “Cellophane” visual.

Read Pitchfork’s Cover Story “The Sacred and Profane Genius of FKA twigs.”


01 Ride the Dragon
02 Honda [ft. Pa Salieu]
03 Meta Angel
04 Tears in the Club [ft. The Weeknd]
05 Oh My Love
06 Pamplemousse
07 Caprisongs Interlude
08 Lightbeamers
09 Papi Bones [ft. Shygirl]
10 Which Way [ft. Dystopia]
11 Jealousy [ft. Rema]
12 Careless [ft. Daniel Caesar]
13 Minds of Men
14 Minds of Men (Outro)
15 Darjeeling [ft. Jorja Smith and Unknown T]
16 Christie Interlude
17 Thank You Song

Source : Pitchfork