Destroyer Announces New Album LABYRINTHITIS, Shares Video for New Song: Watch

Dan Bejar has announced his next Destroyer album. LABYRINTHITIS is out March 25 via Merge. The announcement of the follow-up to 2020’s Have We Met comes alongside the new single “Tintoretto, It’s for You” and its David Galloway-directed music video. Watch it, and find the album’s artwork and tracklist, below.

Bejar created LABYRINTHITIS with longtime collaborator and producer John Collins and the Destroyer band. The album was predominantly written in 2020 and recorded the following spring in the peak of isolation. Bejar and Collins sent ideas back and forth from their respective locations: Bejar at home in Vancouver, and Collins on Galiano Island.

“I had an idea of writing a couple lines on the idea of ‘mystery’ and ‘goin nowhere,’ as they are two of my favorite themes,” Bejar said of his new song in a press release. “That and the Grim Reaper and being pursued by some silent, unnamable thing that constantly lurks one foot to the left of you. Especially as the world’s decay becomes increasingly less abstract. Also wanted to write on the romance of terror. The song ‘Tintoretto, It’s for You’ speaks to all these things, oddly enough so does the video.”

Bejar is heading out on tour later this year. Revisit Pitchfork’s profile interview “Destroyer’s Dan Bejar Serenades the Apocalypse.”


This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.


01 It’s in Your Heart Now
02 Suffer
03 June
04 All My Press Dresses
05 Tintoretto, It’s for You
06 Labyrinthitis
07 Eat the Wine, Drink the Bread
08 It Takes a Thief
09 The States
10 The Last Song

Source : Pitchfork