Death Cab for Cutie Cover Yoko Ono’s “Waiting for the Sunrise”: Listen

This Friday (February 18), Canvasback Music and Atlantic Records will release the Benjamin Gibbard–curated compilation Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono. Before the album arrives, Gibbard and his band Death Cab for Cutie have shared their cover of Yoko Ono’s 1973 song “Waiting for the Sunrise.” Listen below.

In addition to Death Cab for Cutie, Ocean Child includes contributions from David Byrne, Yo La Tengo, Japanese Breakfast, Jay Som, the Flaming Lips, and others. A portion of the proceeds from Ocean Child will be donated to the nonprofit organization WhyHunger. The album’s release also coincides with Ono’s 89th birthday.

Revisit “Kim Gordon, Tune-Yards, and 6 Other Musicians on Why Yoko Ono Matters” on the Pitch.


This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.

Source : Pitchfork