England confirmed as 2025 Rugby World Cup hosts

England named host of the 2025 women’s World Cup; Australia to host the 2027 men’s World Cup and the women’s showpiece two years later; USA to stage the competition for the first time with men’s tournament in 2031 and women’s in 2033

Last Updated: 12/05/22 12:45pm

England has been named as the host nation for the 2025 Rugby World Cup.

The host nations for the five tournaments across the women’s and men’s games from 2025 through to 2033 were confirmed on Thursday, following a World Rugby Council meeting in Dublin.

After England hosts the 2025 women’s competition, Australia will host the 2027 (men’s) and 2029 (women’s) events, before the USA stages the tournament for the first time in 2031 (men’s), along with the 2033 (women’s) showpiece.

Australia and England were earlier named “preferred candidates” while the US was in dialogue with World Rugby as part of a new selection model introduced last year that aims to accelerate the growth of the sport.

England, the 2014 winners of the competition, previously hosted the women’s tournament in 2010, while Australia, already a two-time host of the men’s event, hosts the women’s for the first time.

RFU chief operating officer Sue Day said: “We are thrilled to be hosting the 2025 women’s World Cup – it’s going to be incredible.

“Working closely with Government, UK Sport, Sport England and World Rugby, we will create a lasting legacy for women’s rugby in England, the UK and across the world, both in terms of attracting more people to play and attracting new fans.

“As we have seen from other home World Cups in cricket, hockey and netball, a World Cup will further advance all women’s sport.

“The tournament will also deliver significant economic benefits right across the country.”

The Rugby Football Union forecasts it will provide a £156million uplift to the UK economy and has set the target of organising the best attended women’s World Cup in history.

Twickenham is expected to host the 2025 World Cup final
Twickenham is expected to host the 2025 World Cup final

Pool games will be held across the country amid the introduction of a new 16-team format with Twickenham hosting the final, where it is hoped an 82,000 sell-out crowd will be present.

England are current Six Nations champions and the game’s number one ranked side, who will enter this year’s delayed World Cup in New Zealand as favourites.

“This is a fantastic vote of confidence for women’s rugby union in this country,” Sports Minister Nigel Huddleston added.

“We will work closely with the RFU to use the power of staging a World Cup to invest in growing the sport, improving grassroots facilities, narrowing the gap between male and female interest and participation, and delivering a new pipeline of future talent right across the UK.”

South Africa's Siya Kolisi lifts the trophy as South Africa win the 2019 Rugby World Cup
South Africa’s Siya Kolisi lifts the trophy as South Africa win the 2019 Rugby World Cup

World Rugby has announced its next five tournaments to provide “hosting certainty” after the race to land the 2023 men’s World Cup was won by France ahead of South Africa in contentious circumstances.

The game’s global governing body has also approved a “new model that will see World Rugby form partnerships with national unions and governments to establish a local delivery structure in each nation”.

Australia staged the successful 2003 men’s event that was won by England and are seen as a safe pair of hands for 2027 and 2029, while America’s time in the spotlight early next decade offers the platform to broaden the sport’s appeal in new markets.

“USA Rugby will now venture into a new era and ensure the sport’s most treasured event is a springboard for creating lasting, sustainable enthusiasm and passion for rugby from coast to coast,” USA Rugby chief executive Ross Young said.

Source : Sky Sports