Jean Todt pays tribute to those lost from the FIA family in 2019 at annual awards ceremony

Jean Todt pays tribute to those lost from the FIA family in 2019 at annual awards ceremony

FIA President Jean Todt has dedicated his first Tribute Award to beloved friends and colleagues lost from the FIA family during 2019.

In a moving highlight of the annual FIA Prize Giving gala, held last night in Paris at the Carrousel du Louvre, the President paid tribute to some of motor sport’s finest characters, be they driving legends, giants of the automotive industry, and an emerging talent just embarking on his journey into top-flight motor sport.

The roll of honour read as follows:

Rawle Mahabir, TTAA PresidentJanuary 23, 1948 – January 2, 2019
Mirko Butulija, President of the Serbian Club, AMSS, September 19, 1976 – February 22, 2019.
Charlie Whiting, F1 Race Director, 12 August 1952 – March 14 2019
Roger Braun, ACANovember 17, 1951 – March 21, 2019
Sebastiá Salvadó, RAAC President and FIA Deputy President for Mobility, November 13, 1932 – April 15, 2019
Niki Lauda, 3 times F1 World Champion, February 22, 1949 – May 20, 2019
Robin Herd, Co-founder of MarchMarch 23, 1939 – June 4, 2019
Jean-Luc Thérier, Rally driver, October 7, 1945 – July 31, 2019
Jean-Paul Driot, Founder of DAMS, September 7, 1950 – August 4, 2019
Ferdinand Piech, CEO of Volkswagen, April 17, 1937 – August 25, 2019
Anthoine Hubert, F2 DriverSeptember 22, 1996 – August 31, 2019
Andrew Cowan, Rally Driver, December 13, 1936 – October 15, 2019
Domingos Piedade, AMG Leader1944 – November 30, 2019

The families of Anthoine Hubert and Charlie Whiting came together at the ceremony to ensure their oustanding contribution will be fondly remembered

Jean Todt commented: “The FIA Prize Giving is an occasion of celebration, so it seems only fitting to include a permanent tribute to those who have given so much to the sport. The indelible mark they have left on all our lives must be fondly remembered.”

Source : Fia