Paul McCartney and Wings Reissuing Band on the Run for 50th Anniversary

Paul McCartney and Wings will reissue their classic 1973 album Band on the Run for its 50th anniversary. Out February 24, 2024, the record will be expanded with two alternate versions: one in Dolby Atmos, the other “underdubbed,” meaning the orchestral parts have been removed. “This is Band on the Run in a way you’ve never heard before,” reads a quote attributed to McCartney in the press release. “When you are making a song and putting on additional parts, like an extra guitar, that’s an overdub. Well, this version of the album is the opposite, underdubbed.”

The “Underdubbed” version comprises unreleased rough mixes created by Geoff Emerick and assistant Pete Swettenham at AIR Studios during the 1973 sessions. A new running order, which you can see below, mirrors that of the original analog tapes. The Dolby Atmos version was mixed by Giles Martin and Steve Orchard.

Band on the Run (Underdubbed Mixes):

01 Band on the Run
02 Mamunia
03 No Words
04 Jet
05 Bluebird
06 Mrs. Vandebilt
07 Nineteen Hundred and Eighty Five
08 Picasso’s Last Words (Drink to Me)
09 Let Me Roll It

Source : Pitchfork