Sunak hails ‘historic moment’ as Sweden officially becomes NATO’s newest member

Rishi Sunak and Joe Biden have welcomed Sweden officially joining NATO, with the prime minister calling it a “historic moment”.
Mr Sunak said the Swedish membership, along with Finland’s a few months ago, will make the alliance stronger and “the whole euro-Atlantic” more secure.

He also said NATO has “never been more important than it is today” amid Russia’s threats and “their barbaric war in Ukraine”.

YouTube This content is provided by YouTube, which may be using cookies and other technologies. To show you this content, we need your permission to use cookies. You can use the buttons below to amend your preferences to enable YouTube cookies or to allow those cookies just once. You can change your settings at any time via the Privacy Options. Unfortunately we have been unable to verify if you have consented to YouTube cookies. To view this content you can use the button below to allow YouTube cookies for this session only.
Enable Cookies Allow Cookies Once

Ukraine war latest:Missile ‘directed at Zelenskyy’
US President Biden also congratulated Sweden on its admission and said it was a sign the Kremlin’s intervention in Ukraine had united, rather than divided, the alliance.

Sweden becomes the 32nd member and its formal admission comes nearly two years after applying.
The Nordic country – which has not been at war since 1814 – has historically avoided military alliances for more than 200 years, and at the start of 2022 still ruled out joining NATO.

More on Nato

Related Topics:

But after Russia’s full-scale invasion in February that year, Sweden changed course and filed a joint bid with Finland to enter the organisation.
Mr Biden said in a statement on Thursday: “When Putin launched his brutal war of aggression against the people of Ukraine, he thought he could weaken Europe and divide NATO.


“With the addition of Sweden today, NATO stands more united, determined, and dynamic than ever – now 32 nations strong.”

Image: Pic: AP
The US secretary of state, Antony Blinken, said at a ceremony in Washington to mark Sweden’s entry into the alliance that “good things come to those who wait”.
He received Sweden’s accession documents from the country’s prime minister, Ulf Kristersson.
Mr Kristersson said on his visit to the US: “Today is truly a historic day.
“We are humbled, but we are also proud. We will live up to high expectations from all NATO allies. United we stand. Unity and solidarity will be Sweden’s guiding light as a NATO member.”

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

Visiting NATO’s Russian frontline

Last month, Hungary’s parliament voted to ratify Sweden’s bid, which had been the last obstacle to it joining the transatlantic organisation.
All NATO members must agree to invite a country for it to join the alliance. After this, each member must sign and ratify the Accession Protocol for a country to formally join.
Helsinki’s bid was approved by Budapest in March last year, with Finland officially becoming a NATO member the following month.
Budapest didn’t give any clear reason for its refusal to back Sweden at first, and was believed to be following Turkey in demanding a series of conditions, including a tougher stance on Kurdish militants.
Read more:Estonian leader urges West to stand up to Russian intimidationAnalysis: Missile malfunction sends wrong kind of message

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan had signed off on Sweden’s membership in January, which left only Hungary to approve Stockholm’s bid.
The full list of NATO members is Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Source : Sky News